Jeff Koppel Memorial Scholarship Fund

Jeff KoppelAnnouncing the establishment of the Jeff Koppel Memorial Scholarship Fund to honor the life and important contributions Jeff Koppel made to the Head Start community.  

Contributions can be sent to:

Jeff Koppel Memorial Fund
c/o Central PA Community Foundation (CPCF)
1330 11th Ave. Altoona, PA 16601 

Please make your check payable to the Jeff Koppel Memorial Fund - CPCF.

Unless otherwise advised, CPCF will notify the PHSA of your donation and the amount.  More information about the CPCF can be found at

The Jeff Koppel Memorial Scholarship will be awarded to a former Head Start student with an outstanding high school record who is enrolled in post-secondary education. Jeff’s widow, Sharon Koppel, also a former Head Start Director, said, “Jeff knew that Head Start years had to be followed by regular education, and then, post high school, if long-term life impact was to occur.”

Jeff began his Head Start career as Head Start Director at Huntingdon County Child and Adult Development Corp. He moved on to serve as Director of Early Childhood Services at the Berks County Intermediate Unit, and, then, under various contractors, Jeff provided management training and technical assistance for Head Start and Early Head Start Programs in Pennsylvania, Region III, and Federally.

Before his death on January 12, 2020, Jeff’s reputation as a friendly helper and advice-giver, fierce Head Start advocate, and always-available shoulder for Head Start Directors, staff, and Boards to lean on was well-established. His wit, breadth of Head Start knowledge, and strategic thinking helped Head Start programs everywhere be the best they could be. He is warmly remembered by all of us.

Please share this information with friends of Jeff Koppel everywhere. Contributions may be made at any time year-round. Scholarship applications will be solicited during the 2020-2021 school year. The first Jeff Koppel Memorial Scholarship Award(s) will be given in the Spring of 2021.